Why ‘You Matter’?

Back in February I shared about my struggles in figuring out who I was and realizing that I mattered.  You can read all about it HERE.  I began struggling with my own self-worth and I knew that I needed to find someone that could help me sort through those feelings because I knew it wasn’t something I could do completely on my own.  It took me a little time to actually realize that I needed help.  I didn’t have a problem looking in the mirror and saying “I matter”, but it wasn’t something I actually really believed deep down.  Somewhere along the way I had gotten lost.  I spent my time caring for others, but I had stopped caring for me and making myself a priority.  Yeah, I had said I was doing stuff for myself, but when I really stepped back and took a good, long, hard look I was just kidding myself.  I had immersed myself in others and while what I was doing was worthwhile, I had lost a little of myself in the process.

This is exactly what the You Matter campaign is all about.  Everyone deserves to feel like they matter.  Although, I didn’t feel it at the time, there were people out there that let me know that I mattered to them.  At Military Spouses of Strength, we want you to know that no matter what is going on in your life, You Matter.  Make time to tell the people around you that they matter to you.  Each person around you has qualities that only they can give to the world to make it a better place.  Make sure to let them know that you value who they are as a person and that this world is better because they are in it.

During the month of September, Military Spouses of Strength wants you to watch and share our You Matter video and show your support by letting others know they matter by taking a picture holding a sign that says #YouMatter.  Don’t forget to use the hashtag and tag Military Spouses of Strength so we can share your picture on our Social Media channels.

Awareness about suicide prevention is everyone’s responsibility.  Be aware of what is going on in the lives of your friends and family members.  Don’t just ask them if they are okay, stop and listen to what they are saying.  You may be the one person they feel they can reach out to.

Tiffany

~Tiffany Bodge is the Managing Director at Military Spouses of Strength.  She is a military spouse of over 20 years.

This entry was posted in MBS Blog, Uncategorized, You Matter Campaign and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

