I DID IT! 

First, let me start off by telling you my great news! Last week I saw Dr. Sobel.  We decided to keep me on the 80 mg of Geodon.  He was also happy to see that my neurologist put me on Neurontin for my RLS.  This is a great drug supplement for the Geodon.  So, my meds are staying the same for now, except, he wanted me to try again to get off the Effexor.  As you know, I have tried several times and it’s always made me feel really sick.  It’s hard to explain, but on top of the constant nausea, I felt dizzy 24/7. And it’s worse when I close my eyes.  Well, despite all that, I did it.  Today is day four without it and I think the worst is behind me! I went to bed last night feeling sea sick and woke up this morning with the dizziness gone! I even managed to go to work all week despite feeling like I was on a ship in rough seas. You have no idea how great it feels to finally have that monkey off my back.  Today, I won’t even keep a pill in my pocket to take just in case! I’m done!

I also had a great time last weekend visiting my friend in twenty nine palms.  I actually went! As some of you can relate, it’s not uncommon for me to make social plans and end up canceling at the last minute.  Sometimes it just seems so overwhelming.  So this was a big deal for me.  

This weekend I am planning on purchasing a new treadmill, because mine broke.  I find myself more and more thinking about getting back into running again, but the thought of doing it in public makes me want to break out in hives.  I know I can get there though and that’s exciting.  So, this is the first step towards that goal.  I’m finding also that this unwanted weight gain is really getting me down.  The good news is that Geodon does not increase my appetite.  It’s been fabulous not feeling hungry all the time.  That is a side effect of most of the medications I’ve been on.  

As you can see, I’m feeling positive! I’ve completed two things in one week and if I can get a treadmill too, it would be the icing on the cake! Maybe by next weeks blog I’ll be able to tell you that I’m actually running again!  Who knows, I might just get better yet! 

Tchau!

This entry was posted in Blog - Jennifer's Journey to Strength, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I DID IT! 

  1. lilypup says:

    It sounds like you are really living in recovery. I am hoping to do that too. Oh boy, do I ever know the thing about cancelling. That is so hard. Best wishes…hope to run into you again and hear an update. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

